Hello Blog, Where Have you Been?

It’s been a long time since I’ve written a blog post – there has been lots happening and while I keep intending to share an update – it just hasn’t happened. Anyone else ever have that problem? Ugh…to conform to a regular schedule! That might be next. Meanwhile, here’s what’s been going on…

1) Leggings – I used some fabric in my stash to try out the Cake Patterns leggings. Let’s just say “Big Fail!”  I have not used a PDF pattern before – so perhaps I didn’t have the setting correct. I thought I put it together correctly, measured out where I was supposed to – but in the end, I could barely get them up over my ankle! I’ll likely give these a go one more time – but I’m thinking I really don’t like print-it-yourself and assemble-it-yourself patterns. Too much work and too much room for error. We’ll see.

Riffs_EspressoLeggings_Front.indd

2) Vogue 1314 – LOVE this pattern! I had purchased this pattern when it first came out and have since seen so many reviews on PatternReview.com. I had enough of this animal print sweater knit, so I thought I’d try it out. It was an easy dress to sew. I didn’t do the lining, just sewed the dress – the fabric was heavy enough, I didn’t think I needed the lining. It was a great project to try out the ruffling foot on my serger and also try clear elastic. It was also great learning – I didn’t think the ruffling was quite enough, although it worked easily enough, so I went to clear elastic. I had never used that before either, but found some great tutorials on YouTube that showed how. The funny part was, after sewing on the elastic, I serged the seam, which cut off the elastic! In the end it was probably a good thing because the fabric was stretchy enough, that I needed to take it in further – in fact, could have sewn a smaller size all around. It all worked out – I love the dress, but it’s packed away until fall.Vogue 1314

3) New York Spring Fabric Shopping – My friend Jean and I spent a day in NYC – her to find MOB fabric and me, just about anything. I ended up stocking up on some basics (silk organza, power mesh for lining) and also found some cute cottons for tops and bathing suit fabric. It was a great day of going store to store – love NYC fabric shopping!

Fabric Shopping

4) Vogue 8979 – I started this project about a month ago. I made 2 muslins. The first, I thought I needed an FBA, so tried that with the second. I thought it was all fine, but with this pattern, I should have treated the darts differently. It’s just about complete, but I had to step away! I used my handy wax tracing paper and it left some marks so I’m thinking of dying it once I complete the hand sewing, finishing off the arm and hem. Cute top – but it was a bit of work. While I had planned to make another, I’m not sure that will happen.


VO_8979_A5Vogue Green Top

5) Vogue 1314 – My birthday was this month (more to come on that) and my sister and I planned lunch out at one of our favorite restaurants to celebrate. Her birthday is the week after mine, so it’s always fun to celebrate together. I needed something “springy” to wear and had some turquoise ponte knit – so I thought I’d whip up another Vogue 1314. Really, this took half a day – so easy. I even made the lining this time with the power mesh I bought in NYC. It turned out great – love the color, love the dress, love the lining – a winner!

turquise dress

6) A new ensemble – Vogue 8799, Butterick 5455 and McCalls 3830.  Last year I bought some navy cotton sateen and had planned to make Vogue 1220. I didn’t pursue that project – thinking the style may not be flattering to me and the fabric was a bit heavy. Instead, I’m using the fabric for a jacket, dress and skirt combo for spring and summer. I’ve done a muslin on the jacket and dress bodice, made adjustments and have everything cut out. Next up – sewing away! I’ll share progress along the way.

 

Spring Ensemble

7) My Big Accomplishment – As 2014 began, I outlined my goals for the year – two of which were to sew my own clothes for a year and get fit. They go hand in hand – getting fit, clothes will be easier to fit and look better. However, I also made an exception and broke my RTW fast by purchasing a Training Shirt for the More Fitness Half Marathon in Central Park, NYC on April 13. I have taken this fasting vow very seriously, but I thought this was one exception I would allow.

More

April 13 is my birthday, so I thought running my first half marathon would be a great gift to myself. I started training in February and the race was April 13 – my birthday! Happy to say “I Did It!!!” – 2 hours and 40 minutes. Not so bad for my first. Hopefully not my last!

Funny though, my friends took such pity on me not being able to buy new race day gear, they gave me a beautiful outfit to mark the day. At least you can see the top above. Nothing like girlfriends!

At some point I’m going to have to learn to sew athletic gear!

So, that’s it for now. A busy few months for me. I hope your spring is off to a great start!

Happy Sewing!

Laura

One response to “Hello Blog, Where Have you Been?

  1. Jusst wish too say your article iis ass surprising.
    The cparity inn your popst is simpky cool and i coulld assumje
    you’re an expert onn this subject. Fiine with your permission llet mme tto grab yolur RSS
    feed to keeep updatd with fortthcoming post. Thanks
    a milliin andd please continue thhe gratifying work.

Leave a Reply

