Getting Ready to Sew for Spring

With a pile of new patterns in hand, I recently went through my fabric stash to see if I could come up with a plan for spring/summer clothing to sew (surely winter can’t last for ever!)IMG_3051

don’t have a huge stash by any means – it’s a mix of some really nice fabrics and some not so nice. I went through it all and pulled out the “seasonally appropriate” fabrics I have to see what might work with what.  IMG_3053

As a result, here’s what I’m thinking so far…

I have a really nice navy tropical wool that I thought would be perfect for Butterick 5849. I like view B – the middle pic. I also have a deep plum tropical wool – and a great necklace that would be perfect – so I might go that route and save the blue for another dress option. Still deciding.

IMG_3061

I’d also like to make a jacket, so I’m going to try McCalls 6902. I’m not sure which style, but I have some light teal colored wool blend fabric I thought I’d try it out with, once I do a muslin. If I really like it, I have a nice navy/white check linen fabric, so we’ll see.

IMG_3059IMG_3063

Vogue 8799 is a pattern I’ve actually had for a while and hesitated making because while the pattern says it’s an unlined jacket, it is lined. With the new sewing skills I’ve gained making my “couture dress”, I’m less intimidated by that. In addition, some favorable reviews on PatternReview.com have me more interested. So, I have this on my short list for spring – possibly along with a skirt. For fabric, I’m considering a beautiful navy stretch cotton sateen I had bought last year and didn’t use.   IMG_3058

I was really drawn to this pattern, Vogue 8962. I have some teal ponte I thought I’d try the top with. I also have a dark brown (not shown here) and enough to do the top and skirt. I may go that route and have something else to wear in this cold weather while testing out the pattern.

IMG_3056

I also want to make a Tory Burch-type tunic for this spring. I’ve been searching everywhere for patterns.

I really have my heart set on New Look 6849.

new look 6849

It’s out of print and I’ve searched everywhere – eBay, Amazon, I put a classified on PatternReview, and even called the company, but no luck. (If you have one in a size 14 that you’re willing to part with, I’d be happy to buy it!).

In a JoAnn store recently, Burda patterns were on sale so I bought this one to try – Burda 8501. I also have Butterick 4684. Perhaps working with a muslin, I can get one of these to work out the way I want. I have this light cotton gauzy/linen type fabric with an ikat print that I thought would work well. IMG_3057 

Last but not least, I found a zebra print sweater knit in my stash. I like this fabric and thought I’d try Pamela’s Cool Draped Front Cardigan. I really like her patterns and thought this, along with Kwik Sew 3740 for a tank would be a good combo.

IMG_3062

I’d feel better about starting any of these projects once I finish my “little white dress.”  I’m making progress and have a bit more than a week before the contest ends – luckily with a weekend in there I think I can dedicate to sewing.

So, that’s the update on my spring sewing plan. I’d love to hear about yours!

Meanwhile, Happy Sewing!

Laura

3 responses to “Getting Ready to Sew for Spring

  1. Pingback: Giving Leggings A Go | Return To Sewing·

Leave a Reply

