Three Birds…One Stone

Back from vacation, I’ve started working on my 2014 goals, including my wardrobe plan. Suffice it to say, I have not gotten far. What I do know is that I will need a dress in mid-May for a college graduation (Yay! Down to 1 tuition after that!).  Since one of my goals for 2014 is to use my Craftsy classes and I have wanted to participate in a contest on PatternReview.com, I thought I’d kill three birds with one stone, so to speak. I’m going to make a dress that I can (hopefully!) wear to my son’s graduation, using Susan Khalje’s The Couture Dress class and enter the “Little White Dress” contest on PatternReview.com as incentive to get this done.

Today I went to a wonderful fabric store near my home, Banksville Designer Fabrics. They have such amazing fabrics – my head spins when I go in there. What I do know is that if I don’t go in with a specific project, I’m likely to leave with nothing simply because I become overwhelmed.

Today I had a plan – a white dress using Vogue 8648.  V8648I’m making View C – the short sleeved, straight cut version. I chose this because I want this dress to be a bit versatile – I’d like to be able to wear it for work and other occasions, in addition to graduation. As my intent this year is to upgrade the fabrication of my garments, I chose an ivory tropical wool that is just beautiful.  It’s lightweight, which will provide for some season-spanning. Since the dress is lined, it’s also OK that the fabric is so light. It’s really beautiful with a wonderful drape.

So, next up is to get my sewing area in order (it’s a HUGE mess) and get going. The PatternReview contest runs January 16 – February 15. Part of the criteria for winning the contest is sewing a dress that can be dressed up or dressed down, so I think mine is a good option. The rules also allow you to start “muslin-ing” your dress ahead of the official start date so I plan to start the class tomorrow. I’ve already started going through the lessons in the class and realize I have some additional supplies to get – all should be good by the time I’m ready for my fashion fabric.

Let’s see how this goes….slow and steady is my plan to turn out a professional looking, great fitting dress!

I’ll let you know how it goes. Meanwhile, Happy Sewing!

6 responses to “Three Birds…One Stone

  1. Pingback: “Just Follow The Directions….” | Return To Sewing·

  2. Pingback: Getting Ready to Sew for Spring | Return To Sewing·

  3. Pingback: Giving Leggings A Go | Return To Sewing·

Leave a Reply

