Happy New Year!

I hope everyone had a wonderful time ringing in the New Year! I certainly did!

A new year always brings at least the feeling of a fresh start – just wishing I had less “unfinished business” from 2013, but so it goes.

While I STILL have unfinished sewing projects from last year (yes, my black version of Vogue 8742 and my dear daughter’s dress – really, it’s finished except the hemming and it turned out great!).

No need to worry about those now though, I’m actually writing this post from the airport off for a week of work and play in sunny Florida.

I was able to close out 2013 with one last sewing project – a skirt to bring with me on my trip.

IMG_2907A friend of mine had given me a piece of Balinese cotton fabric by Jackeroos. It had a really interesting print – navy, tan, black, off white. I wanted to do something with it so I thought it would be perfect for a simple, casual skirt. You can sort of see it here – with the pattern pieces laid out. 

IMG_2905

The pattern I chose was Butterick 5431Butterick5431I’ve had this pattern for a long time and hadn’t made it – I usually go for pencil skirts, but for something casual, for warm weather – I thought this would work. 

The pattern calls for lining the skirt, but I didn’t want to do that. One of the great features of this fabric is it is the same on either side – there is no right or wrong side – so I couldn’t see the value of lining. Besides, this fabric just didn’t need it.

I chose View A – the short version  – and added about an inch at the bottom. There are no markings to lengthen or shorten, so I thought that would work.

I think it took longer to pin and cut out than to sew this skirt. It was two seams, which I serged. I finished the waist with a serged edge and just folded it over and stitched it down to hold the elastic. I serged the hem and just folded it up and top stitched that too.

It turned out cute – definite potential. It will make a debut this week so I’ll post a pic then. Meanwhile, it’s tucked away in my suitcase waiting for warmer weather!

Super easy pattern. Great for a beginner and quick to whip up. I would definitely use this pattern again and recommend it to others.

I hope your New Year is off to a great start. I’m still working on my sewing intentions – not resolutions  – for the New Year (saw that recently and thought it was perfect!). I’d love to hear about yours!

Meanwhile, Happy Sewing!

One response to “Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

