Thank you, Santa!

Well here we are on the cusp of the New Year and I’m just getting to sharing my big Christmas gift. My wish came true – Santa brought me the Brother 1034D serger!

brother serger

I’m so happy with this serger! I had done a lot of research ahead of time – including reading lots of tips from other owners. An important one was to oil the machine before its first use. So that, I did. The verdict – she works like a dream! It’s amazing how advanced machines are today compared to my 20+ year old Singer serger.

IMG_2790

It is a bit noisy, but it’s not difficult to thread – at least compared to what I was used to – and the tension is easy to sort out. Perfect!

So far I’ve only done the basic 4 thread overlock – finishing up my daughter’s dress, Vogue 8921 (no – didn’t make it for Christmas, but will for New Year’s!) and a black version of Vogue 8742 for me (just need to do the sleeves – lookin’ good!).

To totally stress myself out, because I’m headed to a warmer climate for a week, I’m also going to try to knock out a skirt and top to bring with :). Meanwhile, also working on my 2013 “year in review” – assessing just how I did against my goals and setting up what I want to accomplish in 2014.

One of the things I’ve been contemplating is joining the Ready-to-Wear fast sponsored by Sarah at Goodbye Valentino. This means you sew all your own clothes for 1 year – shoes, socks and undergarments excluded! Sarah is amazing and a real inspiration for me. Even so, and as tempting as it is, I’m not 100% sure I’m ready to bite off the whole thing. I am thinking about taking a “baby step” and committing for the first three months of the year. Perhaps by signing up for a quarter of the year at a time, it won’t be quite as daunting!

I hope your Christmas holiday was joyous. Now, let’s get ready for the New Year!

Happy Sewing!

Laura

4 responses to “Thank you, Santa!

Leave a Reply

