12 Days of Christmas – Day 8

For 12 days I’m sharing ideas for stocking stuffers or gifts for the sewers in your life (or to add to your own list). Here’s another idea:

Christmas Gift Idea #8:  Pattern Paper

No matter what I plan to make for myself, I have to first alter the pattern for length – sleeves, bodice, hem length, etc. I used to just use regular printer paper to do this – you know, cut the pattern, measure the amount to add, tape the pattern back together with the extra paper in between. It worked, but it was always stiff and it was more work to measure to be able to add it evenly.

Perfect Pattern Paper

Then I found this…Perfect Pattern Paper by Palmer Pletsch.

What’s great about this Perfect Pattern Paper is that it’s a pattern tissue weight, but sturdier than the actual paper most patterns are printed not these days – so it won’t tear easily and, when used to alter a pattern, you don’t end up with those stiff strips that I had with printer paper.

Because it has grid lines on it, it’s super easy to measure how much you need. I use this now with all of my patterns. I also used it to trace a pattern I’m sewing for my daughter (I talked about that in this post). Since it’s translucent, it was easy to trace the lines and the markings.

You can order this online from Palmer Pletsch. It’s $6.95 a package – you get two 84″ x 48″ sheets.

For a sewer on your list, add this to a gift basket of sewing gadgets or make it a stocking stuffer. It’s something every sewer could use.

I hope this offers an idea you can use for gifting this season.

Merry Christmas and Happy Sewing!

Miss an earlier post for the 12 Days of Christmas gift ideas? Check them out below:

12 Days of Christmas – Day 1: Craftsy Class

12 Days of Christmas  Day 2: Famore Scissors

12 Days of Christmas – Day 3: Membership to the American Sewing Guild

12 Days of Christmas – Day 4: Clover Triangle Tailor’s Chalk

12 Days of Christmas – Day 5: Point Presser/Clapper

12 Days of Christmas – Day 6: Point Turner

12 Days of Christmas – Day 7: Subscription/Membership

*Disclaimer: Just a note, in case you’re wondering…I am not affiliated with any of the suggested products/companies – these are truly gifts I just think would be great. 

4 responses to “12 Days of Christmas – Day 8

  1. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas – Day 9 | Return To Sewing·

  2. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas – Day 10 | Return To Sewing·

  3. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas – Day 11 | Return To Sewing·

  4. Pingback: 12 Days of Christmas – Day 12 | Return To Sewing·

Leave a Reply

