My Weekend Sewing Plans…

Amazingly, I have absolutely nothing on my schedule for this weekend. I am so excited because I have a LOT of sewing to do!

I’m sewing two dresses for myself with Vogue 8742

IMG_2732

One is cranberry red (at least that one is cut out and marked already). The other is black. This is such a great pattern – I’m hoping I like them as much as I did this last version.

I’m also working on some gifts. Here’s a sample of a coaster I recently made for one of my nephews.

Coaster

It’s white linen with his monogram. It took quite a while to figure out how to do these the way I wanted. I searched all over the internet for a tutorial of what I was looking for but couldn’t find anything, had several false starts, then finally figured it out. I’ll document how I do the next batch and share. I’m really happy with them and they’ll make great hostess gifts.

I also get together with a group of girl friends and we do a gift exchange. This year I’m making a summer beach bag as my gift with Butterick 5799 (it’s sort of a grab bag – you don’t gift a particular person)

IMG_2735

Since we live near the beach, it’ll be great for summer or escapes in the winter.

Last, but not least – it is a miracle – my daughter is letting make her a dress. This is big. She does not sew and despite being a fashionista, can’t understand why I do or how I could possibly enjoy it. This is a breakthrough! After narrowing down a selection, I bought these three patterns.

IMG_2729

We settled on this pattern as the first try, Vogue 8921

IMG_2734

I’m making the yellow version but with long sleeves, in a lightweight, dark charcoal grey ponte. She won’t be home for winter break for another week so I have until then to get it in good enough shape for her to try on and see what I’ll have to do next 🙂

I find when sewing for someone else I take far more care than when I’m making something for myself. So, I think the trick is to just pretend I’m making everything for someone else and my quality might go way up!

I hope you have great plans this weekend – with or without sewing.

It’s a wonderful time of year – enjoy!

9 responses to “My Weekend Sewing Plans…

  1. Looks like you’re in for a fun sewing weekend. Hope you’re daughter likes her new dress and you just never know she might become a little more interested in sewing as well 🙂

      • Had a fairly productive sewing weekend. Finally finished and blogged my new outfit. Shame the weekend is now over and it’s back to work for another week. Looking forward to next weekend already LOL

      • Just checked out your blog – love it and impressed with your accomplishments this weekend. I know what you mean about the weekends going to fast – especially this time of year! FYI – I tried to subscribe to your blog but kept getting an error message – not sure if that’s a problem unique to me or not. Meantime, I’ll be sure to check in. Have a great week!

      • Thanks Laura, the weekends sure do go way too fast unfortunately. Thanks for letting me know about the subscription issue. I made a couple of changes so hopefully it might work now. Hope you enjoy a great week too 🙂

  2. Pingback: My Ambitious Rainbow. | Nice dress! Thanks, I made it!!·

  3. Pingback: How to Make Embroidered Coasters | Return To Sewing·

Leave a Reply

