Love it when a plan comes together…

Honestly, I have a hard time pulling together a sewing wardrobe plan. I tend to go in circles and then, undecided, end up with nothing.

But last week I was inspired to start focusing on a plan for fall/winter sewing (about time! You can read about that here.) It started with a one-day sale Mood Fabrics. After going through most everything on their site I ended up ordering some basics – knits in basic colors – grey, black and a cranberry-red along with a gold one (although I do have a plan for that one!)

My order hasn’t arrived yet and I’m excited for it to get here. It can be hard buying fabric online – until you see and feel it, you really don’t know what you’re getting. I’ve only had good luck with Mood, so I’m sure this order will be no different.

Being the Labor Day holiday weekend in the U.S., today I hit a holiday sale at JoAnn Fabrics. I like JoAnn for picking up inexpensive fabric that I can use as wearable muslins (hopefully!). They were also having a great sales on patterns, notions, thread, etc., so I did some stocking up.

Today my approach to fabric shopping was really just to stroll through the aisles and look for what caught my eye. I wasn’t on a schedule or in any rush. I looked through EVERYTHING with no real plan in mind (beyond knowing I wanted to make a few skirts, tops and dresses). I took my time looking for colors and patterns I liked. Then, if I liked the feel of the fabric, in the cart it went.

When I got home I pulled out my new finds along with what I had in my stash that was appropriate for fall/winter and, what do you know…somehow a plan is taking shape!

2013 Fall PantoneIMG_0246

With a foundation of black and grey, it looks like my palette will center on “Acai”, “Samba” and “Vivacious” with a little “Turbulence” thrown in – what’s not to love about that?! (I also like “Carafe” – so if I find the right fabric – that may end up as pants (more on that to come))

Next up – selecting the patterns. Love it when a plan comes together!

My lesson? Maybe I should just go with the flow and let it happen. So far it’s working …. can’t wait to see how the Mood order fits in!

What are you sewing for fall/winter? I’d love to hear about your sewing plans – not only what they are, but how come up with them.

Happy Sewing!

Laura 

One response to “Love it when a plan comes together…

  1. Pingback: McCalls 3830 – My TNT Skirt Pattern | Return To Sewing·

Leave a Reply

