Easy Breezy Top – Kwik Sew 3691

I don’t know what happened the past two months – I think the combination of some travel, the kids coming home from college for the summer and the return of summer itself has kept me busy! I’ve been able to sew, just havn’t been blogging!

Anyway, I’m back – and happy to share a new pattern I tried – Kwik Sew 3691.

K3691

I’ve been wanting to make a simple top that could be worn casual or be work appropriate and found this one while searching for a pattern that would work well with wovens.

I had a poly silky fabric in my stash (it was from one of the Project Runway collections at JoAnn’s). Anyway, I thought it would be a perfect muslin so I gave it a go

I made view B, but I modified by using the full tunic length, thinking it would work better belted over a pencil skirt or pants.

The pattern is super easy – the front pleats are easy and after that, it’s just a few seams and finishing. I had cut a size large but ended up having to take it in at the shoulders and the sides. Easy to do, but I could have gone with a medium. Something to consider. I also elected to cut off much of the tunic length – in the end it was just too much.IMG_2357

It made its debut recently out to lunch with my sister – always fun! Oh – is that the waiter pouring wine??? (Actually, we were enjoying a 5 course chef selected lunch with wine pairings – this was a really good uncorked chardonnay – I think it was with a sea bass. Anyway – it was perfect!)

Overall – I highly recommend this pattern. For me, this was good enough that I’m ready to go for the real silk version – it takes just a yard and I think in a beautiful silk it will be just the ticket!

If you haven’t already, give it a try – it’s a good one!

Leave a Reply

