Birthday Expo Extravaganza!

My birthday was Saturday so to celebrate I went with a girlfriend to the Sewing Expo in Worchester, MA. OMG – this might sound ridiculous, but it was the most indulgent thing I have done in a LONG, LONG time!

This was the first of this type of event I’ve ever attended, so I really wasn’t quite so sure what to expect. All I can say is it was awesome!

IMG_2341

We drove up early Friday morning and stayed over Friday night. Over the 2 days I took 5 classes: Wardrobe Strategy: Ensemble Solutions with Carol Steinrecher, Body Works: Bottoms with Emma Seabrooke, Four Steps to Perfect Pants with Kathy Ruddy, Seven Core Sewing Skills with Cynthia Guffy, Demystifying Machine Embroidery with Diane Gloystein from Sulky and Mastering Measurements for Fabulous Fit with Lorraine Henry. I learned some great tips and was inspired to keep going!

This was my first exposure to this cadre of speakers – seems they are on the sewing expo circuit around the US and they are hard workers! Most have their own businesses – either a line of patterns, educational tools (books/DVDs), fit information, notions that they carry, etc. so in addition to teaching, they are selling and also doing free presentations on the trade show floor. They are busy!

In between classes we were able to hit the trade show – that was something! I bought all sorts of stuff.

IMG_2343

I almost came home with this – the new Baby Lock Evolution, but then thought better of it (Even though it was my birthday, I am paying 2 college tuitions!).

IMG_2349

Superior Threads was there  – it was fun to see them since I have ordered from them online and get their newsletter.

IMG_2344

We also saw some wonderful quilt and fabric art exhibits. This is part of an exhibit called “Route 66 Quilt Challenge” – it was the entire Route 66! Since I’m originally from Chicago and my girlfriend from St. Louis, we took a pic of this part 🙂

IMG_2346

All in all, a great experience. Have you ever attended a “sewing convention”? I can’t wait to go to another one!

6 responses to “Birthday Expo Extravaganza!

  1. Lucky you – about the sewing convention, not paying two lots of college fees. We don’t have that sort of thing here – quilting and craft, yes, but not sewing to this level. I could be envious, but I am not, I am glad you enjoyed yourself and got yourself a little something nice!

  2. Belated happy birthday – mine was on Sunday. It looks like you had a fun time at the expo. I’m in CT too – just went to affordable fabrics this morning.

    • What a great place – was only there once and did not have enough time to really go through it. Perhaps our paths will cross! Happy Birthday to you!

  3. Pingback: What I Want for Christmas…. | Return To Sewing·

Leave a Reply

