More Than Just Getting Fit!

I am so excited! While working on a recent sewing project (my dreaded “cloned” pants!) and trying to figure out a fitting issue, I saw a review for Sarah Veblen’s book Perfect Fitting (Really – I’m not her promo person, but I do keep coming across her teachings and they are wonderful!). While checking it out at Amazon, I was presented with one of those “buy this book + these 2 more and we’ll give you this special deal” offers. Well, the other two books were The Dressmaker’s Handbook of Couture Sewing Techniques by Lynda Maynard and  Couture Sewing Techniques by Claire B. Shaeffer. They looked interesting and had positive reviews, it was a good deal, so I said “what the heck” and placed the order.

Well, they just arrived and I AM SO EXCITED!!! I feel like I hit the jackpot.  Here they are!

IMG_2297

I’ve only just opened them and briefly flipped through the pages (while dancing in the kitchen because I AM SO EXCITED!) I just had to share.

Here are a few pics from Perfect Fitting. It looks like an “easy instructional” book – written for easy understanding and the photos are amazing! These are just a couple of pages and not at all doing justice to the book. I can’t wait to really dive in to this!

IMG_2300IMG_2301

Here is just a sample of the techniques that are covered in The Dressmaker’s Handbook of Couture Sewing Techniques. This is a spiral bound book, which makes it easy to flip through and the pages lay flat (gotta love that!). Each one of these tiny little thumbnail shots is backed up with several pages of amazing detailed photos and explanation – this will truly be inspiring.

IMG_2298IMG_2299

Couture Sewing Techniques seems to be a bit more “encyclopedic” that the others. It doesn’t have the benefit of the detailed glossy photos that they do, but it appears to certainly be chock full of detailed information and I’m sure it will be useful.

IMG_2302

As I get through these, I will certainly share more about each book – meanwhile, you know what I’ll be doing tonight!

Can’t wait!

4 responses to “More Than Just Getting Fit!

  1. Hello Laura – I am familiar with the Scaeffer book, but not the two others you mention – I may get the Veblen. I have sort of learnt to slash and spread over tight bits over the years and to make second muslins after alterations, but it will be nice to confirm what I know, and to teach me what I don’t (which will be much more than what I know :).

    • I’ve decided to read the Perfect Fitting book cover to cover – only made it to page 40 last night, but really helpful. Starts with the basics of understanding fit and pattern making to then be able to more accurately solve problems. You seem to be doing just fine already though! 🙂

      • Thanks Laura, I’ve got one of those brains that just goes off into a corner to solve problem’s, then reads about it later! I do like a firm grasp of principles though, and my sewing techniques need to improve (out of practice) and books sort of keep you motivated and interested in the subject. I think you have really progressed well with the wrap dress. Happy reading! 🙂

  2. I borrowed the Perfect Fitting book from the library and purchased it this week. There were so many things that I found beneficial.

Leave a Reply

