Vogue 8790 – A Double Hit!

With the long holiday weekend (President’s Day in the US), I spent most of it sewing my Fearless February projects. I was really excited to complete two versions of  Vogue 8790. I made this top once and talked about it here.

The first version I made was this one. I just shortened the sleeve on View C.

IMG_2265IMG_2266

This turned out well. The concerns I shared here about the fabric don’t show up, so I expect to get a lot of wear out of it until the fabric falls apart! (LOL!)

The next version I made was this one, with long sleeves – View C.

IMG_2263

I love how this turned out. In fact, I’ve already worn it! Here are a couple of “live” shots…

Vogue 8790

Vogue 8790

So, you can see the sleeves are a bit long, but they work pushed up or – with a cardigan like this Butterick pattern 5789 that I LOVE (need to blog about that one!)

Vogue 8790 with Butterick 5789

Vogue 8790 with Butterick 5789

Below you can see what I mean about the sizing – there is a bit of a “bat wing”. I can live with it, but reason to think about down sizing next time I sew this.

IMG_2257 IMG_2258

Two things I learned with this pattern.

1) “Third time’s a charm”.  I had a difficult time attaching the back to the collar the first two times I sewed this. By the time I got to my third try, somehow I managed to figure out that when you are attaching the back, you really stitch it in a “square”, with the dots matched. In the first two versions I snipped the curve of the collar to almost lay flat with the back. It really does work better to keep it “square”. When/if you make this pattern, I think you’ll see what I mean in steps 6-8, here:

IMG_2267

They even show it “square”, but for some reason I was trying to make it “straight”.

2) Consider sizing down with knits. While I can wear both of these tops, I probably should have cut these down a size. I’m always afraid of going too small, but I read a recent blog post by Goodbye Valentino on her recent experience with a knit dress – I think it’s time to revisit sizing with knits. Particularly when they are this stretchy – go down a size!

Overall, I highly recommend this pattern. I really like it and will definitely sew it again. I love the length of the top and the front drape is flattering. Now that I’ve figured out how to attach the back to the collar, this should be a real breeze to make in the future. Plus, it’s just three pattern peices (2 if you make the sleeveless version, which would also be cute!).

Here’s my “official” review:

Pattern Description: Per the Vogue Patterns website: MISSES’ TOP: Close-fitting, pullover, mock wrap top has front extending into standing back collar and stitched hems. A and B:narrow hem armholes and sleeves B. I made View C twice – once with a modified short sleeve, and once as shown with long sleeves.

Pattern Sizing: F5 (16-18-20-22-24)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very easy, with the exception of steps 6-8 where I got hung up trying to attach the back to the front (described in my post above).

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? It is really an easy pattern to sew, just 3 pattern pieces (for View C). It’s a very flattering style and being tall, I love the longer length of the top and the length of the sleeves – no alterations for me!

Fabric Used:  In both cases, ITY jersey print.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: No, in fact – I am 6 ft tall and my arms are long. I did not make any alterations to the length of the bodice or sleeves and this top is really long on me. I love it, but if you’re shorter, you might want to go way down in size or take it up.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Yes!

Conclusion: Great versatile top pattern. Love the style, easy to sew – what more could you want?!

14 responses to “Vogue 8790 – A Double Hit!

  1. I too made this pattern and was huge on me. In fact, it continues to grow as I wear it! And the front tapes as well. But I love the fabric so I’m going to rip mine so apart and remake it smaller, shorter and sleeveless for Summer. Yours are very, very flattering on you. I love that grey print. Oh! On that step 6, put a little square of fusible before sewing and mark the pivot point – it helps tremendously. Rock on!
    Coco
    And welcome back to sewing!

    • Thanks, Coco! Great tip – thank you! Funny you talk about your top “growing” – I was wondering if that was my imagination, but the blue one seems to be getting bigger! I’m going to try again and be very generous with my seam allowances, maybe that will help. BTW – love your blog – I’m a new follower!

    • Thank you – I think the fabric came from Denver fabrics. If you go for this pattern, it does run big – but it’s a pretty easy pattern!

  2. Hi, I have only just realised I had not followed you, and I rather want to keep in touch with what you are doing, as we are both returning to sewing. I love the pattern, and am sorry that it is too big for you – but it looks fine with the cardigan over the top. Vogue used to be really good with their sizing years ago, but seem to be a little larger now. I used to just cut and sew with Vogue – I considered that the expense of the pattern was well worth the result, but I’m not so sure now.

    • Thanks, Sarah Liz – yes, I’m following you too – will be fun to share our experiences! Totally know what you mean about the pattern sizings – it used to be so easy! Good luck with the blouse context!

  3. Pingback: Fearless February Summary | Return To Sewing·

  4. PS, I’ve spoken to other people who have also said that they didn’t have fit problems years ago with patterns – and it can’t all be down to changing body shape as we get older, surely?

  5. Hi Laura- I am attempting to sew this pattern- I’ve tried twice- and cannot seem to understand how the square collar attaches to the back. Can you help? If I follow the pattern’s diagram, it just doesn’t work.
    Thank you!

    • Hi Patti – sorry this has taken a while to reply to you. I know what you are talking about – the first time I made the top it was a bit of a challenge. It’s really important to transfer all the markings from the tissue to your fabric – the dashed lines by the small circles on piece 1 (front). If I remember right, those are stitching lines or fold lines that really help when you match the dots and then can follow the lines. I think it was a bit messy too – but because the fabric folds over, it’s all hidden. I hope that helps. I’ve been meaning to make this top again – so if not, I’ll move it up on my list and will share that part as I go along. It’s really a great top.

      • Thank you Laura! Ok, I’m going back in to try it again! Third time’s a charm, right 🙂

Leave a Reply

