Vogue 8825: A New Purple Dress!

Finished! I’m happy to report that my first “Fearless February” projectVogue 8825 is complete! And can I say? I L.O.V.E. this dress! 

Here’s why – after getting through the anxiety of actually cutting the darn thing out, like many other reviewers have said – this is a dream pattern. It comes together so easily and so beautifully. It took way less time to actually make this dress than to cut it out and mark it up!

Vogue 8825 - FrontVogue 8825 - Back

Here is a pic of the front and back views on my dress form. (Excuse the “skewed” look of the back view – my error!)  

The drape and wrap front bodice is very flattering and I love how the sleeves drape over the cuffs. It is super comfortable – I can’t wait to wear it!

Here is my official review for Vogue 8825 using the PatternReview.com format:

Pattern Description: Per the Vogue Patterns website: MISSES’ TUNIC, DRESS AND PANTS: Pullover tunic or dress has front extending into back collar, fitted, front pleated bodice, raised waist, tie ends, two-piece sleeves with barrel cuffs, and stitched hem. Fitted, straight-legged pants (below waist) have elastic waist. I made the dress, View B.

Pattern Sizing: F5 (16,18,20,22,24)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Totally!

Were the instructions easy to follow? Very clear and easy to follow – and only 1 page of directions – gotta love that!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I love how this dress fits. It’s very flattering and will be very easy to wear. I’ll have to post pics of it on me – not just my dress form!

Fabric Used: Purple/Plum matte jersey from Denver fabrics.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I sewed a 16 top and 18 bottom. I lengthened the sleeves, the bodice and the skirt all by 1″.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?  Yes and Yes! I do plan to make it again in a patterned fabric, but it is such a distinctive style, not sure I can use more than 2. If you can’t tell yet, I highly recommend this pattern!

Conclusion:  This is a great pattern. It really does take less time to sew than prepare, but it comes together so well – this is a winner!

23 responses to “Vogue 8825: A New Purple Dress!

  1. Nice. I too have this pattern. And, I am 6′ also. I lengthen most everything. I have a loonngg torso. One of the reasons I love to sew, custom made clothes.
    You’ve made a great start. Cutting things out is the thing I don’t like also, but I had my DH put our old ping pong table up on bed risers, I got a rotary cutter and 2 mats on sale and got up off the floor. This has changed my outlook.
    Congrats and happy sewing!

    • Thanks, Amie! So funny you bring up a ping pong table – I was just talking to my sister about that yesterday! We had one that was a top for a pool table in our basement in the house where we grew up and it was the PERFECT table for laying things out. I wish I had a place to put one now. I use an old kitchen table on bed risers for my cutting table now, but it’s limited to 60″ long – good for tops and skirts, not so good for something like this. You should go for this pattern though – it would look great.

  2. Pingback: Time To Step Up My Sewing! | Return To Sewing·

  3. Looks Great! Nice job. We seem to be on the exact same sewing trajectory. I have all the patterns you’ve reviewed in my collection and enrolled in the same craftsy classes as well. I couldn’t agree with you more about Sarah Veblen’s knit class. Looking forward to following the blog 🙂

    • Great! Actually, I think I’m becoming a pattern addict – it’s getting bad – even bought 2 of the same and didn’t know it! What’s on your short list?

  4. Hi Laura, Congrats on finishing the dress for the Fearless Feb challenge. I’ve joined to, being, like you a “return to sewing” person. I do like this dress, is it a drapey knit?

  5. Hi Sarah Liz, Thanks for visiting my blog and welcome back to sewing too! It will be fun to watch your progress as well. The fabric I used is a matte jersey – so it is drapey, but it’s a heavier weight than say an ITY or silk jersey. I’m going to try it in a lighter print fabric (after I finish my Feb projects!), so we’ll see! Happy sewing!

  6. Pingback: Fearless February Summary | Return To Sewing·

  7. Gorgeous dress. I have this pattern and was actually going to use the “upside down” flower print I had. Now that I see how well yours turned out I definitely will have to make one.

Leave a Reply

