McCalls 6844

Well, I finally got on the bandwagon and sewed McCalls 6844.

mccalls6844

I was attracted to this pattern when it first came out and then started seeing review after review and knew I had to give it a go.

Even though I’m aching to sew some Spring clothes, after completing my “Little White Dress“, I needed an easy project and this was perfect.

I had purchased a bunch of this sweater knit fabric in the winter – it’s reasonable quality, can go in the washer and it’s from JoAnn Fabrics! It’s an animal print sweater knit in a black/brown combo and the brown has a bit of sparkle to it.

I had originally intended to sew Pamela’s Cool Draped Front Cardigan, but really wanted to try out the peplum and I’m so glad I did!

IMG_3062

This is a fun sweater to wear and so comfortable! I swear, I think I have worn it 4 times in the past week, LOL! 

Like most reviewers on PatternReview.com attested, the pattern does run large. I normally would have gone for a large, but I sewed a Medium. With the exception of alterations to lengthen the pattern, the Medium was a great choice.

The instructions for this pattern are really easy to follow. The only “error” I made was in not lengthening the front band enough. I thought I was so careful – but then realized I forgot to include the length I added to the peplum. I didn’t have enough fabric to cut a whole new front band, so I just measured and sewed enough at each end. You can’t really see it in the photos below, but I’m considering the extended pieces on the end a design feature! :)

IMG_3174a For some reason, I have a really hard time with photos. Today as I was heading out to the store with my son, I had him snap a few quickly while we were outside.

IMG_3177aIn this shot I think it’s easier to see how the back waist is a bit lower than the front. While I added the same amount to each, much like an FBA, I think the bust is taking up some of the length in the front and next time I can take the length back out of the back. 

IMG_3181a

These give you a good idea of the peplum.IMG_3179aI like this longer look, but I think next time I may cut back a bit on the length I added to the peplum – I added 3″, but I might cut that in half.

All in all, after sewing this pattern, it’s so clear why it was chosen on PatternReview as a “Best Pattern of 2013“. It’s easy to sew, easy to wear and very versatile. You can belt it, leave it open, dress it up, dress it down – what’s not to love?

I can’t wait to sew it again. I plan to try the longer straight version next and will definitely do the peplum again.

All in all, I highly recommend this pattern. You could sew up a bunch for every season – now on the hunt for spring/summer sweater knits!

if you haven’t tried it yet, I encourage you to do so. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

Meanwhile, Happy Sewing!

One response to “McCalls 6844

  1. Pingback: Hello Blog, Where Have you Been? | Return To Sewing·

Leave a Reply

