Vogue 8648 – Done!

At last! I have worked on this dress for a month and it nearly killed me – but alas – it’s done – and I’m celebrating!

IMG_0511

You can read more about my adventures with this project here and here.

It literally took me almost the entire day of hand sewing to insert the lining, hem and do the hook and eye – but I am so happy to be finished!

IMG_0485

It’s still a bit “lumpy” from the layers, but I think a trip to the dry cleaners will take care of that.

IMG_0501IMG_0491

It was wonderful to cover up all the “construction” on the inside with this silk crepe de chine lining – and it feels SO GOOD!

IMG_0508 IMG_0509

I learned so much making this dress and will definitely use the techniques in future projects – including hand inserting the zipper, which turned out quite well and is really not difficult to do.

IMG_0510

I pushed to finish this because I also entered in the Little White Dress contest on PatternReview.com. As part of the contest you need to show photos of the dress un-accessorized, dressed down and dressed up. So here you go…

little white dress

This really reinforced the versatility of this dress. I made it to wear for my son’s graduation in May, but I know it will get way more mileage beyond that event!

Here’s my official pattern review:

V8648

Pattern Description: Vogue 8648 MISSES’ DRESS: Lined dresses A, B, C, D, E, F, fitted through bust, mid-knee, have princess seams, bias midriff and back zipper. A, B, C: bias sides, straight skirt with back slit. B: contrast sides and midriff. D, E, F: bias side bodice, circular skirt, narrow hem. E: contrast bodice. C, F: above elbow sleeves.

Pattern Sizing: Combinations: AA(6-8-10-12), E5(14-16-18-20-22)

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes.

Were the instructions easy to follow? I’m sure they are, based on other reviews, but I didn’t follow the directions. Instead, I followed Susan Khalje’s “couture dress” class on Craftsy. What a learning experience! A great class with wonderful, detailed instruction for making this pattern or others using couture techniques.

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I like that it is easy to alter and fit. It is also very versatile – this pattern can easily be made in different looks.

Fabric Used: Ralph Lauren Silk/Linen blend. It’s actually a home furnishings fabric, but I liked the texture. It’s interlined with silk organza and the lining is silk crepe de chine.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: No design changes, but I did make a few alterations. I made my first FBA and lengthened the bodice by 1″. I found later, I also had to raise the skirt – or cut down the skirt waist – by 1″.

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? Not in the near future, simply because I have spent every free moment of the past month constructing this dress. That said, because I do have a muslin that fits, once I recover from the labor intensive approach I used, at some point, I’m sure I will come back to this pattern!

Conclusion: This is a really great and versatile pattern – I highly recommend it!

8 responses to “Vogue 8648 – Done!

  1. Yay! I did the same dress, but with the full skirt–I calculated around a hundred inches. It was a lot of hand work, but it sounds like you enjoyed it as much as I did. I definitely know how much work you put in and it looks great!

  2. Pingback: Vogue 8742 | Return To Sewing·

  3. Pingback: McCalls 6844 | Return To Sewing·

Leave a Reply

